New folder sharing permissions in Google Drive
IST has announced new folder sharing permissions are now available in Google Drive shared drives!
Shared drives empower teams and departments to store, access, and collaborate on files. Now, you can share a specific folder with others outside of the team, or upgrade a team member’s access to provide additional permission on specific folders within the shared drive.For example, a researcher can have a shared drive that enables leads and collaborators to see all activity, and share a folder with the project team to only see the information relevant to their specific area of focus. Note, only Managers can share drive folders because they control the drive’s members, settings, and overall user permissions.
How does the new sharing work?Access levels assigned to members of the shared drive represent the minimum level of permission to all files and folders within that shared drive. This helps with transparency, predictability, and scalability. Folder permissions can only be expanded, not reduced or be more restrictive, within the shared drive.
For example, a Commenter on a shared drive cannot be just a Viewer of a folder within that shared drive. However, a Viewer on a shared drive can have their access expanded to Commenter or Contributor for specific files and subfolders within that shared drive. Therefore, if permission on a file or folder is downgraded, the action will take place on one or more parent folders where the permission was inherited from.
Where do shared folders show up?
Folders shared from shared drives can be accessed in the Shared with me section in Drive. They do not appear in the shared drives hierarchy of the recipient, unless they are a member of the shared drive. Recipients of shared folders get notifications, similar to how they will get an email if a Google Doc is shared with them. Users can also organize shared folders using shortcuts.
Note, that shared folders do not automatically appear in Drive File Stream or a shared drive you have access to. To make them appear, you need to create a shortcut to the shared folder in My Drive or the shared drive you have access to. This shortcut will be accessible within Drive File Stream, where you can access the folder or sync the content.
Where can people get more information?Learn more about G Suite features and changes by visiting ist.ualberta.ca. Additional information can be found at Google Drive training and help.